What really is an ARC?

I have been reading a lot of books and putting book reviews on here. That is something that I have not done before. But I have been getting emails from others that ask me if I want to read their books in exchange for reviews. I have been doing a lot of that. But as I understand it that an ARC stands for Advanced Reader Copy. But is it still an ARC if the author gives it to you and the book is already live on say Amazon or other book sites? In my opinion that is just a free book and not an ARC. This has been bugging me for a couple of days now. I mean now that I have actually sat down to think about it. Because if it is already out than there is nothing advanced about it. I know I might be thinking on it too much.

I should just be happy that I got the book for free. It is just that it does not make me want to hurry and read it since it is out there for all to read. I mean I will read it sooner or later since I have added to my TBR list. I actually have a notebook with the name of each author on it and the books I want to read by them listed. Than once I read it I highlight it so show that I have read it. then I have these little dot sticker that I put after the book once I have reviewed it. That is how I keep track of the books I have read and review. There are a couple hundred books in there that I still need to read, but some are from before I started to actually review books. I have only recently found out what an ARC and started to request some. Anyway I have a lot of reading to do today that I want to read. So I am going to get to that and get off my soapbox.

Keep looking to the stars…..

Leave a Reply

